Thank you to Kirkland and Ellis for sponsoring the second annual Kirkland and Ellis National Qualifier Tournament!  The top NYC teams in public forum and parliamentary debate competed for scholarships to attend the National Championships Tournaments and for the title of 1st Place Debate Champion of New York City.

Thank you to all the staff of Kirkland and Ellis and volunteers for judging at the tournament! Shout outs to Saghar Esfandiarifard, Radley Glasser, Lina Kaisey, Jennifer Selendy, Aubrey Semple, Ameneh Bordi, Shilpa Gokhale, Scott Gordon, Eric Merin, Atif Khawaja, Daniel Kent, Adam Stern and Beatrice Hahn for judging!  Thank you also to Jennifer Schiavone and Lily Situ for organizing the event and making everything fantastic and inspiring for our debaters!  Thank you to Kirkland and Ellis for making everything possible for the second year in a row! 

In Advanced Public Forum Debate Semifinal’s Maspeth High School’s Arielle Gallegos and Victoria Panata debated Mott Hall’s Sarah Alvira and Joel Cruz.  Maspeth High School advanced.  In the other semifinals round,  Queens High School’s Dana Ragoonanan and Rasman Rayyan will debate Maspeth High School’s Jordy Portugal and Horia Negru. Queens High School of Sciences advanced.  The final round featured Maspeth High School’s Arielle Gallegos and Victoria Panata versus Queens High School of Sciences’s Dana Ragooanan and Rasman Rayvan. Maspeth High School advanced. Congratulations to all debaters!  And congratulations to Maspeth High School which will be representing NYC at the National Debate Coaches Association’s National Championships at the University of Nevada in Las Vegas.  

Congratulations to Stuyvesant High School for closing out the City Championships. Congratulations to Andrew Chen, Elijah Karshner, Eelia Shaw, Asher Lasday, Inbar Pe’er and Niels Graham.

Congratulations to Maspeth High School’s Arielle Gallegos and Victoria Panata who will be debating at the National Debate Coaches National Championships this weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada! 

Kirkland & Ellis National Qualifier Schedule:

3:00pm – Check-in 

4:00pm – Semifinals Round

5:30pm – Championship Round